Hello, Shelley Melchior here! I am currently a meteorologist for a science and engineering applications company called IMSG (I.M. Systems Group). I am located near Washington, D.C. working on a contract with NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Prediction (NCEP). We moved here from Monterey, CA in late December 2008 where I was working for SAIC under a contract with the Naval Research Lab (NRL). I earned my M.S. in Atmospheric Science from Purdue University in August 2002 and I earned my B.S. in May 2000 in Meteorology and Applied Mathematics from the University of Miami in Coral Gables, FL.

Indiana Corn
Cross-country move
Virtual Tour of Monterey
Mike and I were married October 4, 2008 along the Big Sur coast of California. We had a wonderful wedding and were pleased to share the special day with our dearest family and friends. For a nice summary and pictures, visit our official wedding website. We met back in 2000 while we were both in graduate school at Purdue. He keeps himself busy flying CRJ-900 aircrafts for one of Northwest's/Delta's regional carriers. Next time you're on a Northwest/Delta flight, listen closely for First Officer Melchior!
I am from Fairlawn, OH, a small city located on the west side of Akron. My family moved there in 1991 from Flint, MI, and my parents still reside there. My father is the President of Test Measurement Systems, Inc. (TMSI) which provides cost-effective high-tech testing solutions from consulting to complete custom turn-key systems. My mother did a wonderful job raising my brother and sisters and me, and now that we're grown and on our own, she is the office manager at TMSI and Ward 2 Councilwoman for the local city government.
I am the youngest of four children. My brother, Ryan, is the oldest and is currently living in Akron and working for TMSI. He and his wife, Tammy, were married in February 2000. They are the proud parents of Hannah, born in August 2003, and Gregory, born in December 2005.
My oldest sister, Leslie, is living with her husband, Stephen, in Tunis, Tunisia. Stephen is a Foreign Service Officer. Their previous tours have been in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan, Montreal, Canada, and Manila, Philippines. Where will they go next!? They are the happy parents of Elizabeth, born in April 2003. Their second daughter, Catherine, was born in November 2006.
My older sister, Carey, resides in Los Angeles. She and Luiz are the always entertained parents of their son, Lucas, born in March 2002. She is also mom to Mason, born in September 2007.

4 Potts kids | Lucas | Elizabeth | Hannah | Gregory | Catherine | Mason
Sports play a large role in my life. I started playing softball in 3rd grade, played through high school and ASA (American Softball Association) travel teams, and played for the University of Miami club fastpitch team. Through high school I played basketball and soccer. Past and current interests include: weight lifting, running, in-line skating, biking (both road and mountain), swimming, disc golf, golf, rock climbing, caving/spelunking, adventure racing, volleyball, kickboxing, tennis, yoga. This list, however, can never be complete because I enjoy nearly every sport out there!

Adventure Racing | Caving | Climbing
I have several "All Of" goals that I'd like to achieve in my life time. The one I've been working on since I was about 10 years old is visiting all of the active major league baseball stadiums. Another goal is to visit all of the National Parks in the United States. More recently, I've taken on the challenge of visiting all of the 50 states high points.

Baseball Parks | National Parks | 50 States High Points